Bumgardner and Maury JM’s January CTE Students of the Month

Haylee Bumgardner and Jacob Maury have been selected as January’s Career & Technical Education Students of the month at John Marshall High School. Haylee is a senior in the ProStart program and is the daughter of Kim Pearson.  Haylee plans to attend college to become an Occupational Therapist and believes Mrs. Cubic has helped prepare…

Read More

Middle School Students Being Served Healthy Smoothies

Moundsville Middle School has put funding from Fuel Up to Play 60, sponsored by the National Dairy Council, to use by making healthy smoothies available to students during second breakfast, at lunch and in health classes. Children should be getting five servings of fruits and vegetables daily along with three servings of milk.  Making smoothies…

Read More

2016 JM Queen of Queens Pageant Planned

  The annual John Marshall High School Queen of Queens Pageant will be Saturday, February 13, 2016 at 7:00 pm in the school’s Center for Performing Arts. Nine senior girls will be competing for the crown and the honor of representing John Marshall in the O.V.A.C. Queen of Queens Pageant in July. Tony Summers will…

Read More

New Special Olympics Event Held in Marshall County

More than 100 Marshall County Special Olympians participated at the county’s first-ever basketball event on Tuesday, February 2, 2016 at John Marshall High School. Students from all Marshall County elementary, middle and high schools hit the hardwood along with a few graduates.  Peer tutors from both John Marshall High School and Cameron High School assisted…

Read More

Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest Winners Receive Awards

Three Sherrard Middle School students received awards from the local Veterans of Foreign Wars (V.F.W) in Moundsville for participating in the Patriot’s Pen Essay contest. Laura Siler earned first place, Grant Swift placed second, and Haleigh Henderson received third. The three competed against more than one hundred other students in Marshall County answering the question…

Read More

JM Students Bring Awareness to Teen Dating Violence

February is Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month and John Marshall High School students are joining the effort to raise community awareness about abuse in teen relationships and promote programs that help teens in those situations. A billboard designed by J.M. senior April Young is on display in three different locations along W.V. Route 2 in…

Read More

Mixed Greens Monday Challenge Set

McNinch Primary School is challenging its faculty, staff, students and the community to eat more greens during the month of February. Anyone wishing to participate is encouraged to eat mixed greens such as lettuce, spinach and kale every Monday during any meal.  Protein can be added to the salads by including meat or eggs.  You…

Read More

Local “If I Were Mayor, I Would…” Essay Contest Winner Announced

The West Virginia Municipal League is proud to announce Moundsville Middle School student Leah Reuschel is one of three “If I Were Mayor, I Would…” essay contest winners. The essay contest is designed to promote education relating to municipal government.  Reuschel’s essay focused on preserving her community’s past along with giving teachers and first responders a…

Read More

LEO Members Honored for Service

Article by Liz Knott, Moundsville Daily Echo Members from the LEO Club at Moundsville Middle School were honored by LEO representative and member of the Moundsville Lions, Doug Pettit as LEO’s of the month for the service to the club. “One of my favorite things to do is honoring the LEO’s.  The LEO Club does…

Read More

River Sweep Poster Winner at MMS

Moundsville Middle School student Brayden Snider was named 8th grade division overall winner in the Ohio River Sweep Poster Contest sponsored by the Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission (ORSANCO). He will receive a $50 prize for winning his age category. Snider competed against students from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, Virginia, Pennsylvania, New York and…

Read More

Events Calendar

« February 2016 » loading...
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Thu 11

CL – Tech Facilitators

February 11 @ 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thu 11

BR – Pride & Progress

February 11 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am
Fri 12

CL – Bus Drivers

February 12 @ 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon 15

PD1 – Auditor

February 15 @ 8:00 am - February 19 @ 4:00 pm
Mon 15

BR – Gr 9-12 Sci Textbook

February 15 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm